22 Comments
May 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Sorry to go on about this, but there is one recording of AH taunting and cackling at JD about "21 Jump Street" and how washed up he is. It's so disturbing and cold and cruel. It sounds like nothing an abused person would dare to do to their abuser. I can't get it out of my head. (This was during day 2 of Camille Vasquez's cross of AH this past week.)

Expand full comment
founding
May 23, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

First encountered Johnny Depp in Nightmare on Elm Street in 1985ish before he hit pay dirt 21 Jump. I think 21 was also on after my bedtime the first few years so I never got to into it, but I would have been more Team Peter than Team Johnny because muscular shoulders.

As far as JD and AH - I think they are 2 very damaged people from abusive backgrounds with serious attachment issues (join the club) who found each other at the very wrong moment. It seems JD was in a serious drug and alcohol fueled downward spiral (possibly also a broken hearted heart) personally and professionally. Too cope and try to fill the holes, he throws himself into an intense romance with a gorgeous young actress. Wouldn’t be the first guy to try to heal himself in the arms of beautiful woman. But as we all know, using an outside thing to cope with with really serious pain doesn’t work. Eventually, it comes out sideways, and when it did, unfortunately JD was with a woman who had her own parental war wounds and insecurities which were triggered in a nuclear fashion when he became unavailable and distant. I’d be willing to bet when Johnny was high, on the nod, or disappeared on her, it triggered (excuse the use of a tired word) an intense feeling of abandonment and thing in her desperate not to be abandoned went full red alert using whatever she could to keep his attention, including becoming abusive herself. Negative attention is still attention. Whatever keeps him in the room even if it is to have a physical altercation. From there, they feed off each other and things escalates. I’m also willing to bet, Sarah, AH is both a little delusional and manipulative, and probably unconsciously so, for the most part. I think she is embellishing JD’s bad behavior and minimizing her own. I still really don’t know if JD was physically abusive (certainly verbally) but I think AH really believes he was because his absences felt (though feelings are always truth) like the worst pain in the world to her. She felt justified in doing whatever she could to get his attention. I think its going to take her longer to see her responsibility in this than him, and I think she’s got a good chance of winning the case. I hope she gets a really good therapist at some point for her daughter’s sake. I wonder if this is JD’s rock bottom. Ok - e’nuff armchairs psychologizing from me.🙂

Expand full comment
May 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

I wasn't aware of the trial until Sarah mentioned it in an earlier episode here. Since then, I've been a bit too consumed with it (way-too -late nights watching the recorded trial on YouTube Law&Crime Network which I'd never heard of). I came into it just curious, not a lifelong fan of JD and haven't seen any of his movies (but I will go watch some now), so I wasn't biased, at first. If you look at YouTuber "IncerdiblyAverageaBrian" (?) and his in-depth analysis (video clips, photos documents, etc., that I think are available online via the Fairfax County Court), especially his FIRST TWO videos analyzing the Dec 15 2015 penthouse incident, it's really hard to believe AH's stories. It's sad because if she was in fact a victim of DV, her case is shrouded in doubt because of what appear to be a lot of embellishments if not untruths and false testimonies given by herself and her friends...

Anyway, today's episode, Sarah and Nancy, is the best conversation I've heard yet about this case. And I can't wait for the rest of your in-person interviews and observations about the trial, Sarah!

Expand full comment
May 23, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Ugh! One more apology from me--I just listened again to a podcast ("legally dirty blonde") and she says that some of the audio recordings from the UK trial WAS leaked to the press (eg to the Internet Journalists) after JD lost that case, and that was a no-no. (The guy who leaked it was JDs attorney for the UK trial, and bc he leaked it he wasn't allowed to rep JD in this current trial.) I'm going to shut up now!

Expand full comment
May 22, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Just popping in to say that I randomly have been driving back and forth through Fairfax co this and next week and obviously timing my listening of smoke em to those drives

Expand full comment
May 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

P.s. The YouTuber's handle is "Incredibly Average" (not "Brian").

Expand full comment

First, I had a huge crush on Peter DeLuise during his 21 Jump Street years.

I’ve been following this case on the periphery. I’ve had a lot of empathy for Johnny Depp ever since reading this 2018 Rolling Stone profile. Brutal. https://www.rollingstone.com/feature/the-trouble-with-johnny-depp-666010/

I don’t think he deserves to win this defamation case (they both sound pretty abusive) but I’m glad he brought amber down with him.

Expand full comment

The other week at work I realized I could have been called to jury duty for the Depp / Heard trial. What a crazy experience that would be.

Expand full comment
founding

Sorry for the poor grammar and sentence structure. Typing on my phone.

Expand full comment