Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
On Movie Stars and How I Got These Scars: An Audio Story for a Breaking Heart
5
--:--
--:--

On Movie Stars and How I Got These Scars: An Audio Story for a Breaking Heart

Plus, a power-pop playlist!
5

Nancy here. After receiving a heartbroken text from Sarah a little ways back, I sent a pep-up message and a power pop playlist, which I made when writing the lead essay for Go All the Way: A Literary Appreciation of Power Pop.

… and speaking of Bill Pullman, I cannot highly enough recommend his reading The One Inside by Sam Shepard, which is seriously transcendent. Here’s a sample:

Also, this book cover? My god.

… and speaking of Sam Shepard, I cannot highly enough recommend the Netflix series Bloodline, which I loved and still think about and feel the pull of. If I ever go AWOL, look for me in the Florida Keys …

Episode Notes:

Brown Dirt Cowboys,” by Nancy Rommelmann (LA Weekly)

Go All the Way: A Literary Appreciation of Power Pop, S.W. Lauden, Paul Myers, editors, in which I wrote “Analog Anthems,” hopping through personal history via some favorite power pop songs. Here’s (most of) the line-up xx

Go all the way with a paid or free subscription

Share

5 Comments
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Journalistas Nancy Rommelmann and Sarah Hepola on what's burning through the culture right now. Flirtatious banter for serious times.