46 Comments

The soundtrack to my childhood was Bill Cosby. Despite the revelations about his conduct and character, I will never cease being able to recite long stretches of “Himself” and the entire “Noah’s Ark” sketch from memory.

Expand full comment

Ricky Gervais is a comedic genius- every

single series he’s created as well as his stand up is the most hilarious entertainment of our generation. His monologue on the Golden Globes goes down in history as the greatest of all time.

Expand full comment

Dusty Slay is under the radar and highly underrated: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4e2Zbx8nvY

Expand full comment

Ari Shaffir’s “Jew” just came out, it’s brilliant.

Andrew Schulz is genius.

Neal Brennan is good.

Nikki Glasernis deadly!

Pete Holmes is solid.

Theo Von is a hillbilly!

Mark Normand is classic!

Patrice O’Neal was the GOAT.

Doug Stanhope is a legend!

Bobby Lee, Andrew Santino, Bo Burnham, Bill Burr,

Expand full comment
founding

Ellen Degeneres in the 80s and 90s before she was famous and out

Eddie Izzard’s Dress to Kill

Ali Wong’s Baby Cobra

I loved watch Gallagher specials when I was a younger teenager in the 90s. He was just clever and entertaining. Like a cleaner version of Carlin. I’m all about adult humor and dirty jokes, but Gallagher was different.

Expand full comment

Chappelle, the one about OJ and Dylan Moran, Monster. Cheers!

Expand full comment

Maybe Nancy on her Substack, speaking about her partner Tim, who passed away. He woke in a dream in a car in the desert with Jesus at the wheel, being informed that he wouldn't be drinking anymore. Oh, and he should eat more bananas. I realize it was a bittersweet memory, but the idea of Jesus as an enthusiastic proponent of banana consumption brightened my day considerably. And hell, I stopped drinking myself, years ago now. If bananas work, they work. There's no incorrect way to not drink alcohol.

Expand full comment

Ali Wong was the first comedian to make me cry laugh in a long time. Dave Chapelle, most of his specials and skits on his old show is genius. George Carlin was a genius (Judd Apatow's documentary was a great compilation) Other favorites (their comedy, not necessarily the person): Louis CK. Chris Rock. early Ellen Degeneres, Tig Notaro (genius), Joan Rivers, Richard Gervais, and the show Absolutely Fabulous.

Expand full comment
founding

I saw this question and then pondered it on my morning walk. I don't follow comedy these days and haven't for a long time. But the question did make me remember listening to various LPs as a teenager, including the previously mentioned Bill Cosby and also Tom Lehrer. Another was a couple I bet few have heard of or remember - Nichols & May -- Mike Nichols and Elaine May. Nichols directed "The Graduate", among loads of other work.

Expand full comment

Taylor Tomlinson “Look at You!”

Bo Burnham’s amazing Covid-year lockdown show (title, anyone?)

Everything John Mulaney

Dimitri Martin, especially his latest, which I saw live in LA with my son, and there wasn’t a single cringe moment

Someone mentioned Nick Kroll -- agreed

Sheng Wang “Sweet & Juicy” is a current Netflix special that should be way more visible. You might have to search for it, but you’ll thank me!

Expand full comment

Eddie Izzard 'Dressed to Kill'! His bit on if the Anglican Church had been in charge of the Inquisition doubles me over every time I hear it, he's even funny in French whether you understand French or not!

Expand full comment

Mike Birbiglia!

Expand full comment
founding

Oh my gosh - how did I forget Margaret Cho. Her impressions of her mother leaving answering machine messages!! I’ve probably seen her live close 5 or 6 times, including recently in DC. She doesn’t always kill it but when she does, no one like her.

Expand full comment
Nov 16, 2022·edited Nov 16, 2022

I was a 90s kid and my parents took me to see Cosby live. Grew up watching all the comedy central half hours. Some comedians I love (but can't recall specific specials): Sarah Silverman, Brian Reagan, Maria Bamford, Mitch Hedberg, Norm MacDonald, Billl Burr, Dave Attell, Bonnie MacFarlane, Jim Gaffigan, Stewart Lee, Marc Normand, Beth Stelling, Sam Morril...Sorry this list is getting out of hand!

John Mulaney - All of his specials are wonderful in their own way. You can watch the last 3 on Netflix and see how he progresses.

Doug Stanhope - No Refunds

Janeane Garofalo - HBO Comedy Hour

Louis CK - Sorry

Dave Chappelle - Killin' Them Softly

Chris Rock - Bring the Pain & Bigger and Blacker (tie for me)

Marc Maron - Final Engagement

Neal Brennan - 3 Mics

Whitney Cummings - Jokes

Colin Quinn - The New York Story

Shane Gillis - Live From Austin

Ari Shaffir - Jew & Double Negative

Expand full comment

I just heard Nick Krolls latest stand up special "Little Big Boy" on Netflix. I loved it!!

I also love Jim Gaffigan, Dave Chapelle, Tom Segura, Fortune Feimster ( though I don't like her latest special) and John Mulaney, who I think is the best out there right now.

Expand full comment

This didn’t age well, but..... Bill Cosby “himself’” my sister and I watched this at least 500 times as kids. He’s an awful person, yes, but this ruled my childhood. I think I would feel bad even watching it now for nostalgia sake

Expand full comment

Seinfeld, Brian Regan, Nate Bargatze… we have seen all many times live. I like comics that don’t have to say fuck or whatever to get good laughs. All 3 are clever and use everyday life for their maternal. Can’t remember their specials sorry. Any by all are good.

Expand full comment

Not my favourite comedian but Ari Shaffir’s new special on YouTube is really fun. Also love any Bernie Mac.

Expand full comment

Richard Jeni “Platypus Man” and of course, George Carlin.

Expand full comment
Nov 17, 2022·edited Nov 17, 2022

I loved Steven Wright when I was younger. In the 80s/90s I’d listen to some comedy show that I was able to get on my Walkman 😱😱😱 he was so dry.

Oh! This doc about Andrew Dice Clay was so good. I listened to him growing up but I was a pre-teen/early teen and never knew the climate of his shows or the pushback he got. I watched this on Hulu https://www.vicetv.com/en_us/video/andrew-dice-clay/62d1b4f877a7723c0c2b449d

Expand full comment
founding

I also like to laugh at Chuck Todd... but not because he’s trying to be a comedian.

Expand full comment
founding

Rogan. Burr. Louis CK. Yeah yeah yeah. He’s still funny.

Expand full comment

Dave Chapelle and Whitney Cummings both spring immediately to mind.

Expand full comment
Nov 16, 2022·edited Nov 16, 2022

I wonder if Nancy in particular has seen this short bit by the inimitable Maria Bamford, about the joys of not cooking, and (former) celebrity chef Paula Deen:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZoDIIrp2r4

Expand full comment

I love vintage Don Rickles bits, especially on old television variety shows when he was on stage another celebrity and was ripping them to shreds. In a nice way?

Although they’re not know as comedians, the impromptu Sands shows that Martin, Sinatra, Davis and Bishop at night during the filming of the original “Oceans Elven” in Las Vegas are hysterical.

Expand full comment

Mitch Hedberg

Steven Wright

Dave Chappelle

Expand full comment

Flula Borg is very funny and George Carlin's comedic rants seem to be almost timeless.

Expand full comment

I grew up enjoying Pryor, Crystal, and Richard Lewis but I was gobsmacked when I watched the late great Sam Kinison do his thing. Go type his name in YouTube and the Kinison rabbit hole is a crazy trip. you can appreciate how truly unique and revolutionary his schtick was at that time.

Expand full comment

Favorite Comedians & Specials:

Dara O' Briain, Special: This Is The Show

Frankie Boyle, Special: If I Could Reach Out Through Your TV and Strangle You I Would

Artie Lange, Special: It's the Whiskey Talkin'

George Carlin, Special: Complaints and Grievances

Richard Pryor, Special: ...Is It Something I Said?

That's all I can think of right now. Love the show.

Expand full comment