21 Comments
founding

Early to bed, early to rise, as usual. I lean libertarian, so I'm used to being disappointed with election results. No different this time.

Expand full comment

I played tennis last night. A lot more fun than watching duopoly results.

Expand full comment

I am bummed and I’m not sure I will understand how this is happening I think this president is as damaging as trump - only more so- to the poor and working class: I was in a taxi heading home to LA and the driver turned to me as we passed rows and rows of homeless tents and he said “ I spent 5 dollars for a head of lettuce - a HEAD of LETTUCE “ I shook my head and said well maybe that will change with the elections. I’m from Philly so I’m looking at that election of Fetterman as people are just stuck in their partisan ditches- I grew up a working class dem but have changed - as my issues have changed. I called my aunt who lives in South Philly who hates Biden and is struggling to pay her bills and groceries and I asked her who she voted for she said Fetterman and Shapiro. The reason.. because she’s a democrat. Oh and Oz experimented on dogs...

Expand full comment

I spent the evening trying to draw my hand, only to overdo it. It ended up looking like a flattened out corpses claw.

Listened to CBS news broadcast some of the night.

Not a particularly eventful evening.

Expand full comment

I walked a block away and voted. A few families came - the kids watching their parents vote.

My mom is gonna be in Tel Aviv next month, spending time in Haifa as well.

Expand full comment

I did not vote and then I went to a bday dinner and politics did not come up at all it was pretty great

Expand full comment

I voted two weeks ago so I ignored the news and rewatched the first season of The Walking Dead. It was brain dead ghouls either way so I picked the fun ones!

Expand full comment
founding

A little frustrating. I always watch MSNBC because of Steve Kornacki but internet went out. So I listened to The Unspeakable and finished painting a room. Happy not to have woken up to a red wave.

Expand full comment

Watched I am a stalker went to bed at 8…

Expand full comment

Voted by mail a couple of weeks ago and basically ignored everything else about the election since. Went to bed early last night.

Expand full comment

I met with my writing teacher by Zoom and watch Great British Baking Show.

Expand full comment

I'm in Korea, so it was my afternoon at work. Interesting to see Fetterman get elected after the debate, something that says a lot about his opponent. I was also vaguely amused to see Sarah Huckabee Sanders become govenor; her performances as cold faced bitch icing out the White House press corps, while Trump was trolling up a storm and they were still trying to cover him straight, were almost like performance art in a way.

Expand full comment

I think I'm ready to jump on a bandwagon. The problem is, the bandwagon is still somewhat amorphous so maybe float it for discussion? [Angry citizen mounts soapbox preparing to vent.] ABOLISH PRIMARIES!! Rank choice voting sounds better and better, although I'm not entirely clear on exactly how it would be implemented, for which elections, etc. It's hardly a new or original observation the the current system lets the activist goons and the party machine people decide who and what is going to be on the ballot. A basic liberal with a solid commitment to social justice who wants tougher stand against crime and violence? Forget it! Or someone with otherwise solid conservative or libertarian credentials who wants abortion rights protected? Nope. I don't think the parties are completely useless; they can help channel and focus the discussion. But rank choice would allow people to vote their conscience/ideals without "throwing away their vote" on a nominee with little chance of getting elected. It would eliminate the threat of "spoiler" third party runs. Anyone else?

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022·edited Nov 10, 2022

After four and a half years of working as a Volunteer Manager in organizing for the Beto O'Rourke campaign (Texas), I knew we were going to lose and could barely watch the results as they began to come in. I felt none of the excitement that I felt during his Senate campaign against Ted Cruz in 2018, just resignation, but knowing that I had done what I could to help him in his gubernatorial efforts. I supported my team mates (and made wonderful friends there); showed up for texting and to do tech support for phone banks, putting in 30 hours a week these past few months; and I watched as it all fell apart. Not that Dems in Texas could win at this level anyway. It still hurts though. Now I have to figure out what to do with my free time. I hope to find something more joyful and that feels like less of an obligation.

Expand full comment

Oh man. I voted in Brooklyn for Hochul begrudgingly. I heard her during her debate saying that crime was a right wing conspiracy theory and I nearly lost my mind. I wasn’t going to vote … BUT DOBBS!

Really glad to see Blake Masters get taken down and all the conservative media I follow is pissed at Trump. Not a bad night! … BUT DESANTIS! 👀👀 keep your eyes on that guy.

Expand full comment