32 Comments

All recipes should be in this format.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

I only started spelling it with a CH after Chaya Leah yelled at me! <3 Happy חנוכה

Hebrew is much easier

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

I will be a pariah, but I like mine plain. I'm not a fan of either sour cream (except in a 3 layer cheesecake recipe we got from Bon Appetit 40 years ago) or applesauce. Some in my family like it with ketchup. I don't. But I will have horseradish sauce with the brisket we make.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

My non-Jewish coworkers are currently having a heated debate over this 🤣 Hanukkah Fever has arrived on the shores of New York.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Applesauce!

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Applesauce. 💯

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Both! 100% of the time!

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

All of the above... but also apple butter and fresh herbs on top of the sour cream

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Both but not mixed.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Being a lifelong Southerner, I have never had a proper latke. (A nearly unbelievable admission unless you too are a Gentile planted and grown in Appalachia.) I do enjoy the flourless potato pancake, however. I always dip them in applesauce, much to my friends' disgust. They are content with plain.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Both! Can't wait to eat them tomorrow!

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

It was applesauce when I was a kid, but now it’s sour cream or both.

Expand full comment

I’m going to start to read Sarah’s book Blackout. I’m overseas in Baghdad and had a terrifying experience recently when I fell down and busted my head. I was detained by the police and kicked out of my hotel. No hotel would accept me.

I ended up in a mental hospital where they had a detox which is not that helpful, despite them being nice people.

There’s a lot more to the story but basically it was the most terrifying thing I’ve gone through and I’m still pretty shaken. I lost my job and feel like I destroyed my life. I ended up where I literally couldn’t walk and could barely stand and we had to go through checkpoints.

It’s really a terrifying thing addiction.

Expand full comment

Beat description of latkes - oil with some potatoes mixed in.

But I am not into it this year. I had chocolate my mom brought from Israel. Tonight. Sufganya.

Expand full comment

I've never had latkes but I vow to make some. I'm thinking sour cream all the way.

Expand full comment

Oh, I'm really glad this is the topic of the day because I'm looking for a good cookbook of Jewish American favorites. Latkes, rugelach, challah, borscht. Any recommendations?

Expand full comment

sour cream!

Expand full comment