21 Comments
Jan 4, 2023Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

I hadn’t seen Knives Out, but I watched Glass Onion after hearing Sarah’s praise for it. I loved it! I loved the twists and the humor. The way the movie made reveals was perfect! After that I had to see Knives Out, which I was honestly a little disappointed by after seeing Glass Onion. I know a third installment is in the works. I’ll definitely see it!

Expand full comment

I was intrigued by commenters online who found it "woke". I thought it was quite the opposite. [Spoiler]: take-no-shit woman from Alabama takes down Silicon Valley limousine liberals and poseurs.

I did think though that Ed Norton was too old for the tech bro character. Obviously he's meant to be Musk, or Thiel, or whomever - but that doesn't work with the plot. Those 50ish guys started in tech a LOT LONGER than a decade ago. The guy whose tech breakthrough was a decade ago is Sam Bankman Fried.

Expand full comment

I liked it!

I Like the first one better, but this one was good. It made me think of the book "The Likeness" by Tana French, which has haunted me for years.

Expand full comment
founding

My wife and I were looking forward to watching Glass Onion together because we enjoyed the first one and because we rarely like watching the same type of movie. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The story didn’t click like Knives Out did. Craig overacted Benoit Blanc’s campiness. All the needless cameos were distracting and threw of the pace. And yes, that seen at near the end with all the breaking glass - failed to be dramatic and went on too long.

I did enjoy seeing Edward Norton on the screen again as a main character. Love him. And also liked Janelle Monae. She was fun to watch. I was hoping though that there would be a twist that that Helen was really Andi.

I love the 1985 Clue movie starring Tim Curry. Benoit Blanc has nothing on Wadsworth (Mr Body) as a over the top detective.

Expand full comment

We side with Sarah on this one. I definitely liked it, but I don’t think it was great. My wife and daughter had some more thoughts. I’m sure some of my pleasant surprise Hass to do with my excitement for the movie when it was announced, and then hearing all the bad reviews, and then watching it, and thinking it was a lot better than the reviews. 

Expand full comment
founding

I saw Knives Out when it came out and enjoyed it. Won't see Glass Onion for a while, but it's hugely fun to see the range of reactions to it here. Will I like it? I have absolutely no idea, but the range of reactions makes me more inclined to see it, just to find out.

Expand full comment

I am a huge fan of Daniel Craig and will watch anything he is in (yes, even with the bad accent!!). The movie itself was kinda meh. I thought that it started off well but the identical twin plot twist felt like lazy writing to me. Janelle Monae was great and I really enjoyed her performance. But otherwise it was an OK albeit forgettable film.

Expand full comment

Meh. Mildly amusing. Agree with Nancy though about Kate Hudson being a big surprise. Never thought much of her, but she was really funny!

Expand full comment

Side with Nancy …

Expand full comment

Late to the post. I'm halfway through it and really enjoying it so far. Birdie's lockdown squad, including well-known classical musician, made me laugh.

I'm really commenting because my 12 yo autistic son is a huge Among Us fan, had my entire family play an in-person and live version (no computer) just before I started Glass Onion, and then there was Benoit being all super Sus in one of the opening scenes.

Expand full comment

Saw it at the movie theater on Thanksgiving Eve. I agree with Nancy that it didn’t gel. I was not enthralled and I disliked the glass smashing.

Expand full comment

Entertaining. Forgettable.

Expand full comment

Way too much Foghorn Leghorn, and it felt narcissistic and self congratulatory and obvious in where it was going and the details didn’t really matter (even if it was nominally about a mystery where the detail were supposed to matter). I think the thing that got to me most was they it was so broad and parodying but also wanted to be “real.” It had celebrities appearing as themselves as friends of Blanc. It had CNN personalities on screen. And the message of the film seemed to be, yes this is a satire but actually it’s real. Tech Bros are really this dumb, self absorbed, cruel, etc.; the various personalities and influencers are all just as awful as right thinking people think, and irony or irony, only this big budget, celebrity laden, cameo obsessed film can tell you the truth, so you can be awake to it. And then, there was the “righteous” vengeance of the end. Our aggrieved heroine endangering everyone’s lives and destroying a world treasure, the Mona Lisa, because to punish the guilty, it doesn’t matter what you have to destroy to get your way.

Oh, “it was all in fun”, except that it wasn’t. It was supposed to be the “serious” message of the movie.

Really hated it.

Expand full comment

I loved it for the camp. I didn't overthink some of the plot points, instead enjoying the ride. Janelle Monae shone, and Ed Norton's performance was a delight.

Expand full comment