18 Comments
founding

My discretionary dough is spent on books and decorations for Halloween and Christmas.

Expand full comment

Pilates classes! I am super grateful for the ClassPass app. I am able to take incredible reformer classes that make me feel energized and 2” taller than I did than before the class began.

And, yeah, I am also obsessed with skincare products!

Expand full comment

Diet coke and skincare

Expand full comment

Cattaneo Bros Beef jerky. Dried California apricots. Books I never read. 🤷🏻‍♂️

Expand full comment

Yarn. Books.

Expand full comment

I am also at the nail salon every two to three weeks. I always have the same lady, Nhu, do my nails. I have followed her all over Austin, across eight different salons over the course of nearly a decade now. She and I have a lot in common, and I want to support her. And sushi! I get pretty grouchy if I don't get some high-quality sushi each week, preferably by myself. It's almost like going to church for me.

Expand full comment
founding

I definitely relate to Nancy here... I have a local shop (Yaupon Teahouse + Apothecary) that I visit for face wash and oil moisturizer (they make it in house and I can bring my glass bottles back for refills at a discount). The folks that work there are lovely and I am supporting a small biz! I also quite like spindrift sparkling water. Anytime they have an online sale I buy like 12 cases (the b/f loves that...). :)

Expand full comment

Makeup and skincare (sunscreens and devices the most lately) I can and will talk forever and ever about skincare with whomever is willing.

Expand full comment

Beauty products for sure. But my biggest indulgence is toys, leashes, collars, stupid overpriced gourmet snacks for the dog.

Expand full comment

OMG that scene above is from George Cukor's "The Women"! Fantastic film, all female cast, very very funny. The nail color, Jungle Red, is important to the plot. Big lesson for all you mani-pedi lovers out there: don't tell your manicurist your secrets...

Expand full comment

Expensive skin care products, botox, and cosmetic surgery. Also I have way too many clothes.

Expand full comment
Sep 20, 2022·edited Sep 20, 2022

1) Rancho Gordo Bean Club, and 2) Peanut M&Ms (which I have GOT to stop buying and switch to more skincare!)...

Expand full comment

Perfume samples.

Nail polish.

Magazines.

Expand full comment

I have a gnarly adidas addiction. No track jacket or track pants too similar!

Expand full comment

https://nationalpost.com/opinion/the-year-of-the-graves-how-the-worlds-media-got-it-wrong-on-residential-school-graves

Hi Nancy, I listened to Bari interview this guy on Honestly podcast. I was wondering if you've also looked into this story and whether you came to any different conclusions.

Expand full comment