22 Comments

Asheville NC (I think I want to be there) but probably a small rustic home on a big lot in Colorado or Nebraska. Had enough City in the first 45 years of my life

Expand full comment

Norway.

Expand full comment
founding

To visit: Australia and New Zealand first. I keep telling my wife we aren’t getting any younger and that flight (flights) isn’t getting any shorter.

I am also looking forward to the day we leave the DC area and go back to my hometown in Indiana. Living in big cities was fun in my twenties and thirties, but Im past ready to be someplace way less congested and where I don’t need to be a millionaire to own a lake house.

Expand full comment

My two favorite places are Maui and Olympic National Park in Washington, specifically around the beaches near Kalaloch. I love the beach, hearing the waves and the birds and wind are the best kind of therapy for me. I can't imagine that I will live in land-locked Austin for the rest of my life.

Expand full comment
founding

Love those windows and that floor!

This question really strikes a chord. Where to move to is one of my great questions these past 4+ years. (it's complicated). I love where I grew up (San Diego) and then where I lived for decades (Seattle), but I would never go back, for many reasons. I'm in central Ohio and it's pretty darn good, something I would never have guessed 50 years ago.

30+ years ago I moved from Seattle to Fort Worth and in many ways, wasn't particular looking forward to it. Turned out to be terrific, generating friends I still have, so I learned then not to pre-judge places before I got there.

I recently was in Wilmington NC to visit friends and really enjoyed it. I keep hearing and reading good things about both Tennessee and North Carolina. I love the mountains of Colorado, Utah, and other parts of the mountain west.

But moving is work, and disruption, so that's part of the equation. I'm lucky enough to have an RV so I'm going to explore. Maybe at some point it will become obvious what I should do.

Thank you for the question, helped me do some reflection.

Expand full comment
founding

Beautiful view, Nancy. Based on recent travels the past few years, I've developed quite a fondness for Boone, NC so that's my pick.

Expand full comment

I already live where I'd want to be, and that's Seattle. I do love visiting gorgeous islands (New Zealand, Hawaii, Vancouver Island) but they're too small for me to settle down.

But I wouldn't say no to a cabin in the Cascades or on the Oregon coast.

Expand full comment

This is a tough question. There is the answer that is practical, and the answer that is the dream, and quite impractical.

For practicality, I would leave the National Capital Region where I currently live and work, and return to California, likely Sacramento, and move into the neighborhood where my in-laws live (preferably to a house big enough for guests and working from home and that doesn't need any work). This would put me and my wife close to help with her parents, and also a reasonable drive from where my parents live in Oregon. None of them are getting any younger and we would like to help. Also, we have siblings and a niece and nephews scattered in California, and seeing them more often would be a joy. Of course, we are not doing that right now and only dreaming of it as a response to "if you could move anywhere, where would it be?" questions because California is insane and house prices in Sacramento have gone through the roof, and moving would be a nightmare. But, the practical response is the simple, decent and happy family thing to do, which would be to be able to walk over to the in-laws and drive up on the weekend to see my parents.

The dream would be much more frivolous and is all the more impossible. I would choose to live in Paris. It would probably be a small apartment, and I could not have all the "stuff" I have accumulated. I would be far from all friends and family, but my last visit there with my wife just was magical. I love the city, walking around, visiting the many beautiful places (favorite spot for dumbstruck wonder, Sainte -Chapelle), and walking to the corner bakery in the morning for pain chocolat.

I don't speak (much) French. I don't have a job that translates to France at all. I am not a fashion guy. I am not a wine drinker. I would be a total oddball. I have no reason to live in Paris, other than it's beauty and wonder. But that is enough. A "live anywhere" dream would be to live in Paris. And, I could go throughout Europe from an amazing home base (I like Norway very much too, but in the summer), and it would be an amazing dream.

However, looks like I am not going anywhere anytime soon.

Thanks for the question!

Expand full comment

I love reading everyone’s responses, and started compiling a list of places to visit.

For me, it’s a toss up between Barcelona and Paris, with Lisbon a close runner up.

Off topic, I streamed Blonde last night, the fictionalized story of Marilyn Monroe. REALLY interested in Nancy and Sarah’s thoughts on this. I thought ADA did an impressive job considering what she was asked to do/say. Those are some pretty tall heels to fill. I am still traumatized by the director’s Darren Aronofsky influence. He astutely named the film Requiem for a Blonde.

Expand full comment

I live in Uijeongbu, Korea, in one of the ubiquitous apartment buildings. I'm just fine living here just to the north of Seoul, but I think I'd like to move to a house with a small yard and a shed. Some (more) storage space for bicycles, tents, tools, etc. High-density apartment living has some huge advantages, but outdoor gear storage just isn't one of them.

Expand full comment

Paradise, CA - where I just recently relocated. (yes, that Paradise: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camp_Fire_(2018)

I've lived in some beautiful places - Lake Tahoe, San Francisco, Sonoma County. An introvert and homebody, I've always wanted to live close to nature, and see what small-town life is like. I explored many small towns and the rebuild energy and community cohesion brought me to Paradise.

The welcome sign as one drives into Paradise greets you with, "May you find Paradise to be all its name implies." The sign burned in 2018, it's been rebuilt. I look forward to contributing to the build back!

Expand full comment

I am fortunate to live in a beautiful place, in Argyll, Scotland, near a sea-loch, and surrounded by mountains, hills, and forest.

It’s a place where people come for a holiday (vacation). I suppose if I could move anywhere, it would be to a more remote area of Argyll, next to a freshwater loch.

Expand full comment

My husband and I have been talking retirement here of late- and we’ve agreed on Maine. We’ve both been in Texas for most all the years.

Hoping to fly up in November to start narrowing down the towns of choice.

Expand full comment

Beautiful Nancy I’d like to be in Vermont but I’d want my family with me so I’ll go to NC instead

Expand full comment

That’s in Duchess County? If money were no object I’d feel like maybe the south of France or coast of Italy but I have this bad tendency to see the downside of wherever I am and prefer where I was before. Maybe if I were in some small European city where everything closes down for a siesta or a holiday every month I’d get really annoyed and think things were so much easier in America and I can just get something from Amazon whenever. I’ve lived for years in Iraqi Kurdistan and miss how I could go practically anywhere for less than $5 in a taxi but I get really tired of the food there.

Expand full comment

Some kind of minimalist reclaimed farmstead. No, I've got it: Howards End.

Expand full comment