35 Comments
founding
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

The two most popular crushes for any budding lesbian born in the 70s: Kristy McNichol and Nancy McKeon. I was totally enthralled with their onscreen tomboy characters.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Gillian Anderson in the X-Files

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Olivia Newton John. Rip my first confusing crush. Followed by Henry Thomas in ET.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Judd Nelson circa Breakfast Club hands down 🤤

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

River Phoenix post 'Stand By Me.' I couldn't believe it when he died. I thought he would be young and beautiful forever.

Expand full comment

Christopher Reeve in Superman. He was my boyfriend, and I called him "Christy Teeth."

Expand full comment

Rick Springfield, Davy Jones, Leif Garrett, Andy Gibb… oh my aching heart ❤️

Expand full comment

Absolute first: Davy Jones from the Monkees > Debbie Harry > John Taylor from Duran Duran.

Expand full comment

always went for the "girl next door" type so ...Valerie Bertinelli.

her One Day at a Time character even had a girl-next-door name - "Barbara Cooper".

Expand full comment

Paul McCartney!… I was 5… whoever of my sister and neighborhood kids got to pick Paul was the winner. John was second , George and Ringo next

Expand full comment

Tatum O'Neil in Bad News Bears. I would open up Tiger Beat mag to her pic and place it underneath my pillow and kiss her before I would go to bed.

Expand full comment
founding

I was a 90s girl so the pop boy bands were EVERYTHING!! I think Lance Bass was actually my first big crush!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022·edited Sep 7, 2022

Will Wheaton. We watched ST:NG every evening with dinner, and I realized pretty quickly that I enjoyed watching him. I've rewatched the series since then and understand now what all the haters were annoyed about, but, well, the heart wants what it wants.

Expand full comment

It was either Kevin Arnold or Doogie Howaer MD. But truly first true crush? David Duchovny.

Expand full comment

Tuesday Weld as Thalia Menninger on the many lives of Dobie Gillis. But at that age I wasn’t thinking about celebrities. Or that she would be the Inspiration for most all of the women I liked in the future. I just loved her look. I was 10. Maybe 11.

Expand full comment

Charlton Heston in El Cid.

I was born in 1956.

He had a scene with Sophia Loren in a barn. I remember them lying in the hay. I remember her tracing his profile with her fingertips.

I fell in love with him.

Expand full comment
founding

I can't remember first crush, but a moment's thought made me think of Geena Davis, and that would have been late 80s, and the movies would have been "Earth Girls are Easy" and "Accidental Tourist", to start with. Maybe I'll think of some others as the day goes along.

Expand full comment

Ooh John Taylor! But then there’s Bryan Ferry...

Expand full comment

Rio still gives me chills by the way!

Expand full comment

Can’t remember his name right now, but the guy who played the ghost on the Ghost & Mrs. Muir TV show. Also Adam Cartwright from Bonanza and Nick Barkley from the Big Valley. All these were ‘69 - ‘70ish when I was 9 or 10. I never went for the Donny Osmond/ David Cassidy crew like the rest of my cohort.

Expand full comment

This is a little weird, but it was definitely David Bowie from “The Labyrinth.” That eyeliner and hair!

Expand full comment

Nancy's first crush? 1970 or so?

-Newman, obviously

-McQueen

-Kristofferson

They all seem like they'd walk in that rangy way Nancy loves!

Expand full comment