Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Pie Talk #9: Kugel
0:00
-10:50

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast

Pie Talk #9: Kugel

My first-ever kugel, a car bought with Bitcoin, a bagel hideaway on the Lower East Side, and a podcaster keeps a baby from the afikomen. Happy Passover/Easter/Ramadan everyone!
6

I recorded this on Good Friday, a day before a Lyft driver celebrating Ramadan drove me to a Passover dinner. And I finish these notes on Easter morning. “Christos Anesti,” as my (half) Greek mother would say. Tis the season of renewal and I hope for you and yours.

As you will hear, I’d originally recorded a Pie Talk segment before dawn, while sitting on a dock on Albemarle Sound in the Outer Banks, NC. Would I link a video here, of moonlight sparkling on the water, as I said I would in the audio? I would, but alas, I posted it on Twitter (and also here!), and you are likely aware of the Civil War-in-a-teacup Elon Musk (and/or whomever is making exec decisions) last week decided to wage on Substack, over their roll-out of Notes. One of the upshots? No linking.

I have a lot of thoughts on this, some of which Matt Welch and I recorded for a regular Smoke ‘Em episode that will drop in a day or so. Until then, I will say I agree with Ben Dreyfuss, and also, that Twitter has become an un-fun party

Calm Down
Fine, I admit it. Elon Musk is ruining Twitter.
To my beautiful and smart and funny and generous subscribers, As you probably know, I like to do two things: my tweets and my substacks. Late last year, this South African fellow bought Twitter and he’s spent the last few months making small changes that people seem to hate and creating bad news cycles for himself by using his personal Twitter account to …
Read more

Is it possible Musk et al will make another flash decision and loosen things up? Sure. (Season of renewal!) Until then, the embargo offers opportunity, I can right quick think of four: post clips to my YouTube and/or Vimeo channel; jump onto whatever new video embedding feature Substack will offer (which I imagine will be dropping in 4… 5…) or, a suggestion of Matt’s, revivify some sort of differently-oriented presence on Facebook, a platform I pretty much abandoned in the mid-aughts because it had become for me… an un-fun party. While this all rolls on, check out Notes. A bunch of us were beta testers and I found it to be like Twitter without the shoutiness. I believe the only barrier to Notes is being a Substack creator or a follower of any Substack feed, like this one. Have fun!

Onto my first-ever kugel, a car bought with Bitcoin, a bagel hideaway on the Lower East Side, and a podcaster holding a baby captive. Happy Passover/Easter/Ramadan everyone!

Share

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Journalistas Nancy Rommelmann and Sarah Hepola on what's burning through the culture right now. Flirtatious banter for serious times.