Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoking Diary #23: Memorial Day and the Competition With Your Younger Self
0:00
-1:04:55

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast

Smoking Diary #23: Memorial Day and the Competition With Your Younger Self

Are you Team Jodie Foster, or Team Martha Stewart? Your narrator navigates the space between what we should change, and what should accept. An audio riff.
17

by Sarah Hepola

Which will you choose?

We take letters! Today’s comes from a listener who asks:

I read recently that Jodie Foster said a nice thing about being in her 60s is she no longer feels in competition with her old self. I love that. Shortly after being changed forever by her words, I looked at old photos of myself and my mind leapt to plans about returning to my natural hair color and to get back into running (which, no, my birthday present to myself at 50 was to admit I hated running and would never do it again. The best birthday gift to myself ever!). I am definitely team Jodie Foster but I hate that I feel the pull to team Martha Stewart so often. I know, Sarah, you're way too young to worry about it much but I'd love to hear your thoughts on aging well, maybe even embracing it!

Our solo audio riff covers the topics of female brain disease, the beauty-industrial complex, sexualizing women’s bodies (pro or con?), a size-four prom dress still hanging in the closet, and what it means to age gracefully, if that’s even a thing.

Prom, 1992, age 17. Still have this dress in my closet, bless my heart.

All the secrets for paid subscribers.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Journalistas Nancy Rommelmann and Sarah Hepola on what's burning through the culture right now. Flirtatious banter for serious times.