30 Comments
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

Crow's feet, tooth gaps, the vertical wrinkles between eyebrows.

Expand full comment

Gap in her front teeth ? One of my sons has that women love him

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

I love 'features' that are not symmetrical, where the left doesn't quite match the right.

I think I obsess because I have one ear that sticks out, and one that does not. I was teased when younger that in a strong wind I must have to tack to the left and right to cut through it. ha!

Over time I came to appreciate it and just love it when I discover those things in others. The eyes especially.

Expand full comment
founding

I love freckles.

Expand full comment

Accents are (obviously) not imperfections but sometimes people wish they didn't have them in order to better blend in with a larger culture. They can be quite charming.

Love hearing the way Slate's June Thomas pronounces "book". (bewk)

Worked with a delightful lady who, as much as she tried, could not say "TD Bank" without it sounding like "titty bank".

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

I like this idea. Sometimes I want to leave a comment that doesn't pertain to any one podcast. ... I finished reading (audio version) "Trailed" -- well worth it and that prompted re-listening to the podcast with the author. I also re-listened to "Wild" by Cheryl Strayed (another author mentioned on a very early Smoke 'Em. I'd heard it many years ago and had forgotten many details; it's even wilder than I remembered.

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022·edited Aug 24, 2022Liked by Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

I just read Laura Kipnis’. Unwanted Advances, all about the overreach of Title IX in academia, and was really excited to see Blackout quoted several times in her chapter about “why is this all happening?!” (partial answer: binge drinking). If anyone’s up for a short but infuriating read, I recommend it!

Expand full comment

So any other imperfections people find attractive? I once dated a guy who had shiny brown hair and a white stripe in the front. It was hot. Later learned it’s a poliosis. An unsexy name for a sexy feature. (Bonnie Raitt anyone?)

Expand full comment
founding

I've watched 5 of the 6 episodes of "The Last Movie Stars", will watch the final this evening. I likely would not have seen this except for "Smoke 'Em", so thanks for the reference; it was an impetus for getting a subscription to HBO Max.

I knew they had been married for a very long time; I knew Paul Newman from "Butch Cassidy" and "The Sting", but I hadn't known about the family or the conflicts (though not really surprised), and I'm surprised to realize how few of their films I've actually seen, besides the one's I've already mentioned. I hadn't realized the connections that some of their films had to their own conflicts and difficulties, as I don't generally follow what celebrities are doing. There were times during this that it felt like TMI -- too much information.

And I've been seeing Paul Newman's name in the grocery store for decades, too.

I've appreciated this series in particular for learning much more about Joanne Woodward than I previously knew. This makes me want to see more of her films. I did see "A Kiss Before Dying" recently -- pretty good. I will seek out more of her work.

I appreciated seeing the interviews with their children -- I can't imagine what it would be like to grow up with two famous parents like that.

Smoke 'Em keeps introducing me to things I would not have found on my own, which includes, at least, "The Bear", "Reservoir Dogs", this series, and a few older movies that I've not seen for one reason for another. Thank you!

The HBO Max subscription also gets me watching the "Station Eleven" series -- a favorite book. I heard that the TV series makes some changes -- I'm only 3 episodes in so far. I think this TV series would be pretty confusing if you had not already read the book. The changes I've seen so far make sense to me. I am looking forward to the rest of it.

Expand full comment

Anybody else pre-ordering the Louise Perry book about the sexual revolution?

Expand full comment

ears that stick out. Crooked teeth (more on women than men) especially big bucked and rotated front teeth -- Dentists call this a "butterfly". Kate Moss, Felicity Jones and Kristen Stewart have this... I did too once before they got "fixed". I've regretted that damn fix for 20 years.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022·edited Sep 1, 2022

I have always been most attracted to people who are a little round or soft and who I think like to eat. I like cooking. (I liked it a lot more it before I got the three pickiest kids ever. I am hoping that when they eventually move out that I will find that love again.) In Spanish class in college we were asked to talk about what we were looking for in a boyfriend/girlfriend and my partner in this exercise and dear friend, Lauren, who knew me well, asked, "How do you say 'weight-gain potential' in Spanish?"

Expand full comment

I think I got so far down the rabbit hole of beauty standards that I now think all humans are ugly. When I see someone who is considered attractive, I either wrinkle my nose or pick out their flaws and enumerate them in great detail in my head. There is a not-small subset of men who can only be aroused by cartoon images (eg anime type with breasts the size of watermelons and eyes that take up a third of their faces) for this very reason.

Expand full comment

I’m working on a feature story and I just can’t get people to talk to me. It’s not even a controversial subject, I’m just having bad luck with people returning my emails. The people I’m contacting are in Georgia (the country) and Armenia but their websites and Facebook pages have some English language posts.

It’s just going nowhere :( , it’s about the Yezidi diaspora in the Caucasus. It’s hard not to just put it on a backburner and not work on it anymore.

Expand full comment