Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Pie Talk #5: Guacamole
14
0:00
-20:30

Pie Talk #5: Guacamole

On rock drummers, towering avocado trees, getting songs dedicated to you at the Greek, and why, if you're reading this, you should thank Los Angeles
14

Good morning from Chinatown NYC, where there are no avocados in my 42-square foot (including counters and all appliances, listen, it’s like walking a gang plank) kitchen, just a COVID test in-progress and some excellent coffee from Panther Coffee, based out of Miami. The owners, Joel and Leticia Pollock, are friends from the iteration of my life after Los Angeles, we met them in Portland, from whence they decamped for Miami, to open a coffee roasting business.

“Nency, Nency, can you write something for us?” This is Leticia - and here I am badly botching her Brazilian accent - asking back in 2009 that I write to the local licensing bureau explaining what coffee roasting was, the idea being totally foreign and apparently causing officials to think someone was trying to burn down the city. I did; Panther opened in 2010 and now has something like four million locations in Miami (okay, six). You should go.

We are going back further today! To 1990, when my daughter was less than a year old and I saw two young women my age pushing baby strollers past my house on the street that led up to the Hollywood Reservoir. Stay to the end for a sweet addendum.

Two corrections: Charlie’s first band was the Plugz. (The Cruzados were second.) And toward the end I accidentally say “mash the garlic” when of course I mean, mash the avocado. Also: COVID, negative.

Share

Episode notes:

Hollywood Reservoir
Pool shot with Tafv, 1990, taken the day I fed her the jar of chicken franks, to the horror of the fancier Hollywood Hills mom
With “Slim” Kim Brower and Christy Quintana, 1991
Tavie and Tim, 1990, in the yard of the house on Holly Drive. Avocado tree is just off to the left

Charlie Quintana, whose first and only job besides as a drummer was delivering flowers for one day in his native El Paso. He was sixteen when the band he formed and The Plugz (video) became successful. Charlie went on to become part of the Cruzados, The Havalinas and other bands, and toured and/or recorded with Bon Dylan, Social Distortion, John Doe, Cracker, Joan Osborne and, if I am not mistaken, the Gin Blossoms. I remember (though I am finding no confirmation of) this because sometimes when Charlie played in Los Angeles he would nab me some tickets, and when the Wallflowers played at the Greek Theater, lead singer Jakob Dylan announced (I am not kidding here), “This goes out to Nancy,” before launching into, “One Headlight.” (I had told Charlie I loved the song.) Maybe I’m wrong! But that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Well lookie here, I found some audio of “Meet the Neighbors.” (Or you can read it.)

Make More Pie
Meet the Neighbors (audio)
Listen now (21 min) | A reading of “Meet the Neighbors,” from Forty Bucks and a Dream, Stories of Los Angeles, because I sense what you really need this holiday season is to hear about ululating Armenian widows in West Hollywood, Amway-selling Scientologists in Atwater Village, gunplay in Silver Lake, and Evian-filled swimming pools in Beverly Park…
Listen now

Charlie Quintana, drummer for the Plugz and Social Distortion, dies at 56,” by Randy Lewis (Los Angeles Times)

Taking My Ex Back In (for His Own Good),” by Nancy Rommelmann (New York Times Modern Love)

Guacamole, adapted from Charlie Quintana

  • 5 ripe avocados

  • Salt

  • One-half yellow onion, chopped small

  • 2 - 3 jalapenos, chopped small, leave some seeds

  • Handful of cilantro, chopped

  • Juice of 2 - 3 limes

Mash the avocado and salt. Add onion, jalapeno, cilantro and stir. Squeeze on lime juice. Adjust to taste.

Charlie’s guac is better than mine

Charlie playing with Bob Dylan on David Letterman 1984

Share

14 Comments
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em Podcast
Journalistas Nancy Rommelmann and Sarah Hepola on what's burning through the culture right now. Flirtatious banter for serious times.